What chemicals should I have in stock all the time?

Hey guys, I took over as lab tech this year at my school which is a new build, I am relatively new to being a lab tech so not 100% sure what chemicals are needed to have in stock all of the time.

We are currently using Edexcel as our exam board and we have most of the chemicals bought just for that spec. but out of curiosity what chemicals would be best to have in stock that might not be of regular use?

I know we don’t have any potassium chlorate so I cant torcher jelly babies for respiration practical’s at the moment so thats going on my next order :D

COMMITTEE
Do you run any A-Level courses, if so it might be worth checking what other chemicals you need for those.
In this continual cost cutting education sector we now work in, it's becoming more important it seems to only have the chemicals you need and in some cases recently we've had to justify purchases of certain chemicals.;)

On the cleapss website there is a spreadsheet E233 - Chemical stocklist which has a list of all the chemicals you might use and how likely they are to be used in a school. That would be a good starting point.

We dont run A-levels yet but we will do in 2 years, I am starting to prep things now for when that starts.

We are lucky with our head, if we say I want he normally rubber stamps it as we dont throw in silly orders like other departments do. Talking of silly orders time to order some eys :D

Thanks Sarah I will have a look at that and compare it with my current list and see what I should get in.

COMMITTEE
On the cleapss website there is a spreadsheet E233 - Chemical stocklist which has a list of all the chemicals you might use and how likely they are to be used in a school. That would be a good starting point.
We used this as our basis to create our stocklist, ans have added successive years on so we can compare usage of chemicals over time. It's a great document.:D

Thats what I was thinking of doing with it after seeing it.