Teachers helping themselves to equipment

how does any one feel about teachers getting equipment out of prep rooms themselves without requesting it and saying they will put it back - def not in covid times but when things are normal!!

As I'm a P/T lone tech it happens, I don't like it but hey-ho.
Under the circumstances at the moment it really needs to stop, for all kinds of reasons. I've got my work cut out for me if I hope to have a 'new normal'. If only I could get all the teachers of Science in the same room at the same time I might be able to sort it out.
You know what, tomorrow is my Friday and this will have to wait. I have gloves, alcohol free sanitiser and masks to track down. Wish me luck, it's a thankless task that's already used up far too much of my time.

honestly my biggest pet peeve in pre-covid times haha.

Especially because its unfair on the staff who actually do ask for stuff. 'oh sorry i cant give you the equipment you requested even though you gave plenty of time because some ££$%^&$£ has already lifted it' :p

I put an overdue request in for them on LabLogger so it is flagged up in red for HOD, who monitors to check that they are preparing their lessons correctly and timely. Need to do it before the lesson ends though (or back date computer clock temporarily to allow input).
1600322747765.png
Name and shame soon stops it as everyone in the dept can see this.

I'm well used to teachers arriving just before a lesson or even 10mins in, and asking for equipment... Not normally a problem, but I object strongly (and vocally) to helping yourself. Our Physics staff pretty much teach in the same labs all the time (just a few changes due to class sizes) so equipment that is not put out by myself tends to stay on their bench (miraculously moving back to the center) until they grovel.
I once even moved equipment to a teachers office desk to make the point.
Fortunately I have a very good relationship with all the teachers.