Successful technician–teacher relationships

The ASE have published a report on technician supply and the crisis facing schools:

"Clearly, there need to be some policy, organisational and budgetary changes, at a government and school level, to influence the squeeze on school resources. Organisations such as the ASE are addressing this. However, there are things teachers and technicians can do to weather the crisis. Katherine Forsey, in collaboration with a team of technicians and teachers, has come up with suggested strategies to ensure a successful technician–teacher relationship."

What are your suggestions to foster a successful technician–teacher relationship?

PhysicsSimon

COMMITTEE
Talk to each other - both professionally & socially, if you're not part of the same team (with a genuine teamwork ethos) then someone isn't doing things right IMO. As a teacher I experienced both brilliant & pathetic service from technicians (different schools) which has coloured my views as a technician somewhat. I'd advise any new'ish technician to go out of their way after a practical lesson to ask the teacher how it went - shows you care about it & if it didn't go too well then you can try to work out how to make it better next time. Obviously the teacher absolutely has to treat their technicians with respect & do things properly from their end but I'm just thinking about it from a techy angle

Something positive to come from this. In 27 years I have seen many surveys, statements, promises etc. None have change anything in job. Many technicians have left/retired disappointed that the system can't or won't change. As the survey points out many candidates are unsuitable or will not work the hours for money offered. I can remember writing to M.Ps. both British and Scottish and achieving nothing.
Now I will probably be demoted in the name of "flexibility" but be expected to maintain everything as before.