Simple acid/metal experiment question

General sci teacher asked me to make up some solutions to react with copper oxide powder to measure heat output. Just says dilute acids so I've made up 0.5M H2SO4 and 0.5M HCl. Will this be enough or too dilute?
Also is it usually Copper II oxide or Copper I oxide that's used or does it not matter?
I'm new to this so glad that you all share your experience.

I haven't specifically come across this investigation but my initial thought is that the copper (II) oxide/sulphuric acid reaction which is used as a method of salt making (see RSC) requires heat input so is most likely not especially exothermic. There is an investigation (was an old ISA IIRC) in which you added different metals to a copper sulphate solution. Sorry I couldn't specifically answer your query.

lee

This is a typical case of teacher not knowing what they're asking for it seems and hoping the tech can decipher the symbols...
Copper oxide is not a good example in general to show exothermic nature because of its low solubility. In fact you need to heat up the acid to get it to react at a decent pace, thereby eliminating the whole point.

If he really wants a metal oxide to react with an acid, you would have to try something like sodium oxide or potassium oxide which are more soluble and try something like 2M HCl for a decent temp change just going by intuition. This would be my starting point and then go from there....

Otherwise if they aren't fussed, they can do mg ribbon + 0.5M HCl which will give a nice temp increase.

I did test some copper I oxide and the tube got slightly warm with vigorous shaking but not worth measuring. Could do Mg that's definitely more productive, but would iron oxide be a better alternative? Perhaps that's what they wanted?