effect of pH on an enzyme reaction - what type of amylase is best?

I need to order some amylase to be used in a practical to look at the the effect of pH on an enzyme reaction.
When I set up for this practical i used some bacterial alpha amylase solution - i simply used this as it was already in the prep room (i am new to the role) and diluted it down. But is this the best type of amylase to use for this practical? Looking at the catalogue to reorder I can see various forms of alpha amylase and wasn't sure which to get.
does it affect the practical if it contains reducing sugars?
I would be grateful for your advice

:):)
I need to order some amylase to be used in a practical to look at the the effect of pH on an enzyme reaction.
When I set up for this practical i used some bacterial alpha amylase solution - i simply used this as it was already in the prep room (i am new to the role) and diluted it down. But is this the best type of amylase to use for this practical? Looking at the catalogue to reorder I can see various forms of alpha amylase and wasn't sure which to get.
does it affect the practical if it contains reducing sugars?
I would be grateful for your advice
Diastase Lisa. happy New Year!

ChrisN

Jack of all trades master of several.
This is what the society of biology have to say

http://www.nuffieldfoundation.org/practical-biology/investigating-effect-ph-amylase-activity