Bunsen - a new way to buy science supplies - 10% off with code LAUNCH10

Do you think a degree is importent to be a science techician?

Do you think a degree is importent to being a science techician?

• Yes

Votes: 2 3.0%
  • No

Votes: 64 97.0%

• Total voters
I see a lot a techs who have one I am just curious to how Important people thing it is.

Last edited:

clairelucas

COMMITTEE
Important or impotent? Both equally valid suggestions... Freudian slip maybe? Might be more to do with people taking the positions. Its not universal, but there will be a few like me, who have qualifications pre-family, but take on the role to fit in with childcare...
Science qualification background and common sense is important. Whatever degree you have, it isn't likely to cover all 3 sciences, so we can't be qualified to degree level on the subjects we're teching for...

Reactions: TDM
Nope. As someone who has a science degree and started as a lone technician, I can say in my experience what got me through was my organisation, being pro-active and flexible. With few niche exceptions, I cannot recall moments where I thought "It's only thanks to my degree that I was able to achieve this".
Whilst having a science background is definitely advantageous to softening the entry barrier, anyone can learn on the job if they have the right qualities and proper support.

I have a degree but I don't think it's the most important thing. It does help that I have a good knowledge of science though.

Julie Delaney

COMMITTEE
I see a lot a techs who have one I am just curious to how Important people thing it is.
I came through industry and cut my teeth there. To be honest, if I had a degree I would want t hell of a lot more than the 15k I earn doing this job. I did start one with the OU but had to give it up due to my parents becoming very ill. when I went to go back to it, the fees had become astronomical and so, I never went back. I now have half a degree!! :(:eek::D