Data harvest dynamics trolleys ? or other recommendations ?

Forgive the lack of technical language, I'm a chemist :laughing:

We're looking to improve our physics kit, and one of the things Mr Physics has asked for is new dynamics trolleys. They need to be able to do springy and non springy collisions, be easy to attach interrupt cards, masses and other things to the top, and do the thing where you put them together with a mechanism so they explode apart.

He really wants Pasco smart carts, but I don't think our business manager will go for that along with everything else on the shopping list, so I'm looking for other options. We currently have a few of the metal Philip Harris trolleys, but they are super heavy (to the extent that they make dents in the lino if they fall off the table) and most of the explodey mechanisms are broken after ~10 years which doesn't seem particularly great to me. Plus some big wooden ones which are even older, even more broken, and even more impossible to attach things to !

Since we use Dataharvest loggers and sensors, I had a look at their dynamics carts and they look fairly cheap and cheerful, they have a rubber bumper and a spring that can be used for collisions, and they come with interrupt cards that screw in which is a big plus, but I can't see any way for them to do the explodey thing, so I wondered if anyone has done this activity successfully with them ? And also, how do you attach masses for F=ma ?

Otherwise, does anyone have any other recommendations of the best cheap-but-decent dynamics trolleys to buy ?

Thanks !

Peter Sigsworth

COMMITTEE

We're looking to improve our physics kit, and one of the things Mr Physics has asked for is new dynamics trolleys. They need to be able to do springy and non springy collisions, be easy to attach interrupt cards, masses and other things to the top, and do the thing where you put them together with a mechanism so they explode apart.