Chlorine & Aluminum reaction demo: hints on what are the critical parameters?

I'm a laboratory technician from Quebec - Canada and for many years, I have tried to perform the demonstration detailed by the Nuffield Foundation & Royal Society Chemistry for the reaction of generated Chlorine with Aluminum foil:
https://edu.rsc.org/experiments/rea...nd iodine.&text=2Al + 3X2 → 2AlX,Cl, Br and I).

The results varied so much, from good reaction to slow reaction, to even no reaction at all besides some fumes... I cannot point out to what are the critical parameters to make this demonstration a repeatable success!

any hints?

The chlorine gas is generated, yes, in the vessel. I had to boost the hypochlorithe and use concentrated acid to have a good chlorine content. But most of the time, when I heat the reaction tube, I have a lot of white fumes... then sometimes a few sparks of bright blue light, but that dies really quickly. I have tried to ''dry'' the Al foil with alcool before, just to try preventing a moisture to kill the reaction, but it does't help much. I wonder if the quality of the aluminum foil is important???

The chlorine gas is generated, yes, in the vessel. I had to boost the hypochlorithe and use concentrated acid to have a good chlorine content. But most of the time, when I heat the reaction tube, I have a lot of white fumes... then sometimes a few sparks of bright blue light, but that dies really quickly. I have tried to ''dry'' the Al foil with alcool before, just to try preventing a moisture to kill the reaction, but it does't help much. I wonder if the quality of the aluminum foil is important???
Okay try Conc HCl and potassium permanganate VII in your chlorine generator.

1619012671591.png

So, 5 g of KMNO4 and excess volume of HCl 12N ? Did you ever get a fast & strong reaction with this? Would it be better to use aluminum powder instead of foil??

Hi all - for those who are attempting these demos: