Search results

1. labtech666

Private Schools technicians

From my own experience of private, all the schools I've worked in have had small classes, typically 12 to 20 students. The vast majority of lessons include some practical, so the workload can be quite high. My hours are longer than when I worked in the state sector, but the longer holidays...
  2. labtech666

Private Schools technicians

I've been in three different private schools over the past 17 years and they have varied massively! My last school was super academic, very well resourced, well behaved students, I got free meals and use of the swimming pool. Problem was it was a really high pressure environment and eventually...
  3. labtech666

Invigilating

I know, right? I was gobsmacked, but he meant it and everyone stuck to it.
  4. labtech666

Invigilating

We got pulled into reading/scribing last year and the Head of Science declared that no practicals could happen while we were busy elsewhere. This year the school have hired some invigilators, so we're not being used.
  5. labtech666

I graduated (finally!)

Congratulations! I started my OU degree just as the pandemic was kicking off and will hopefully be graduating in just over 3 years.
  6. labtech666

Please hug your loved ones

I'm so sorry for your loss
  7. labtech666

What jobs have you had aside from being a techie?

I worked in insurance for a year after I dropped out of uni, then had 5 years without paid work after I had my daughter. For the past 20 years I've been a lab technician
  8. labtech666

Well I did it..applied for a job outside education after 12 years in a schools

I had a head teacher at a previous school who didn't want to pay for training for technicians because he thought if we got more qualified then we'd leave for somewhere better.
  9. labtech666

The most dangerous toy ever

My dad had a big jar of mercury which lived on a shelf in our dining room. Occasionally as a treat I'd be allowed to play with it (mid 80s)