Recent content by Medchemist

1. M

testing in schools

Has anyone who has had covid (confirmed by PCR) given the test a go? In theory it should be positive. I was isolating after a +ve PCR test on the 5th, I'm starting my first shift playing med lab technician tomorrow, but yesterday they asked if I wanted to take a test when if I said yes I'd be...
  2. M

Can I be asked to supervise keyworker and vulnerable children?

I never said it was fair. I didn't know about the clause being tested in court, that's interesting and handy as well as the insurance aspect - I'll have to remember those, thank you for your wisdom.
  3. M

Lubricating glass joints

I second purple cat. I have a masters in chemistry and the grease was only for when you needed to put the apparatus under vacuum as the joints leak air otherwise. The profs would take marks off if you used grease and it wound up in your product! You clean joints to within an inch of their...
  4. M

Can I be asked to supervise keyworker and vulnerable children?

To supervise children you need no qualification, I used to be a cover supervisor and do not have qualified teacher status (QTS), just my chemistry degrees. To teach children you need to have QTS in state schools/academy schools, the only exception being independent schools. The term...
  5. M

Used sand

React any excess acid with copper carbonate/oxide then filter off the excess solid and evaporate to get copper sulfate crystals.
  6. M

safety goggles and Demos

Personally I would say that kids and teachers alike should get into the habit of wearing them when doing almost any experiment as it's such a simple measure that can save such a delicate and useful sense. My eyes have been saved 3 times in my 6 years of being a chemist from a injury that would...
  7. M

Determination of the order of a reaction