Recent content by chris vaudin

1. chris vaudin

Dusting off my Labcoat

How about setting assessed practicals, they might get some that work:vampire:
  2. chris vaudin

Dusting off my Labcoat

Nice to have you back Beaker, sounds like a lovely setup.
  3. chris vaudin

Radioactive storage

Ask your RPO exactly where in CLEAPSS LO93 it says ground floor only. Provided it is in a secure location it should be fine, and if it's out of your regular workspace then all the better. The only thing I'd suggest is that you notify the local fire service as to it's new location (although when...
  4. chris vaudin

Hi All I am a Senior technician for over 30 years and have never been told to trial experiments. My HoD is telling me to trial all experients to m

It depends on the teacher, usually they are happy for me to take the readings, then they do the calculations. Can't beat a bit of team work!
  5. chris vaudin

AC generator

Possibly one of the magnets has lost some strength due to a knock. A quick tip on AC and DC settings on the CRO, switching to "DC" will show everything, DC and AC, so is the usual one to use. Switching to "AC" will block out any DC in the signal, useful for looking at small AC signals which are...
  6. chris vaudin

AC generator

Technically correct, but many of the items sold as "dynamos" these days in fact have an AC output. Just to confuse the teachers more ours outputs 2 cycles of AC for one revolution;)
  7. chris vaudin

Unknown glass items, can you shed light on them?

Nice one Nick, I knew that it would be in there somewhere. The one that I thought it was, the thermoscope, has one bulb blackened, so yours is a much better match. In that case it's not ether in the bulb but water, to quote from the 1960 Philip Harris physics catalogue, it is listed under...
  8. chris vaudin

Unknown glass items, can you shed light on them?