Removing eyeballs

Discussion in 'Supporting Biology' started by Fluff, Jan 22, 2019.

1. Teacher came in today VERY pleased with herself.
    She has obtained a pigs head from her butcher for me to remove the eyes from :eek:. I explained I've never done this before, always get them ready removed, and don't really fancy it as a 'fun' job to do. Have looked on the internet and can only find catering related videos on how to remove the eye which involve destroying it.
    Anyone ever done this? So tempted to tell her to do it herself.........

tree hugger and Helen J like this.
  2. Never done and wouldn't do - I know my butcher says it's tough and they know what they are doing. Just tell her it wasn't possible as you don't have the necessary tools for the job. :)

tree hugger, ClaireS and Fluff like this.
  3. Not often speechless.........:eek::eek::eek:

Fluff likes this.
  4. Honestly I would probably tell her to do it herself. Say you have never done it and that you think you are more likely to destroy the eyes. If she wants them, you are happy to help but she will have to do it.

See what you get back from that!

Fluff likes this.
  5. Sound advice I think.... CLEAPSS say that "butchers and abattoirs experience more trouble in removing the eyes [of pigs] and may be unwilling to sell them" - if they struggle, with the right tools & loads of experience, I think a school science technician may struggle too....! I think I would probable end up severing a finger or two if I tried it...... :D

tree hugger, ClaireS and Fluff like this.
  6. sounds not nice but eyeballs of the pig are easily removed with a dampened dessert spoon takes two secs no damage.

Fluff likes this.
  7. Have previously asked our friendly neighbourhood wholesaler to supply eyes, and they didn't protest...

Fluff likes this.