Preparing to negotiate. . .

Discussion in 'Science Technicians - General Discussion' started by Jimbob1988, Dec 3, 2019.

1. So, if anyone feels free to pass on any of their wisdom, please do, but here is my current situation:
    - I am now a lone technician (untrained), and the person who is going to help me starts last week (although I've heard this as a rumor) of term and it seems this person is on the same 'level' as me
    - They will not train me up as a senior science technician as I am going into teacher training, yet as someone untrained, I feel uncomfortable.
    - The main reason I went to be a science technician was to improve my practical knowledge to then help me get into teaching. I don't even have the time to test practicals as there is too much work for me here (and I REFUSE) to work in my breaks etc.
    - I am with an agency and come April, my pay will drop. I travel to Watford from London and this drop will not be financially stable.
    - I need to get an idea of wages for technicians/new senior techs, as I am unsure where to negotiate.

I am thinking of using this to negotiate something and get it in writing will I am the only technician here.

Thoughts?

2. I work alongside another Technician and are term time only and on the same level. Pay is around 12-15k depending on experience and we are in the South East. Hope this helps.

GeorgetheScienceTech likes this.
  3. How much would that equate to if you worked all year? Thank you for the information :)

4. Does the school know your intentions of going into teaching and that you are only doing this in prep for teacher training? If the answer is yes, then sorry to say you have zero negotiating power as they won't invest in someone they know could leave at any moment...
    The other thing working against you is that they now brought in someone else who is more trained which means they can afford to lose you because you have shown them the department can function with only 1 technician.