CLEAPSS conflicting advice

Discussion in 'Supporting Chemistry' started by Ophelia, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Hi everyone. I’m a new technician and have been following the guidelines on the hazcards for disposing of waste etc. But when I phoned CLEAPSS they said something different to what’s on the hazcard for that chemical. Has anyone else experienced this? I thought the guidance on the hazcards is an absolute must.

2. What chemical and what specifically did they say different to the card?

Ophelia likes this.
  3. How old are your hazcards?
    Some were updated in 2018

Ophelia likes this.
  4. I’m in the middle of printing out the most recent versions from the website, so they will be up to date.

The chemicals are organics - cyclohexane and cyclohexane I think. Everything I’ve read says to collect for disposal or evaporate small amounts in a fume cupboard, this is what they did in my old place and teachers were told never wash them down the sink. Here they put them down the sink and run the tap for a while, apparently CLEAPSS say this is okay if it’s less than 10 ml.

5. That's nice to know, saves me a whole bottle of waste :D

The latest hazcard says store it so that's what I will do.

Ophelia likes this.
  6. I remember the thing about down the sink due to small volumes being on old versions of the Hazcard but assumed that practise had to stop when it updated...

Ophelia likes this.
  7. Yes, there was something on the old version about washing it down using a dispersing agent. I really don’t understand why the people on the phone are contradicting what’s on the hazcard.